Wednesday, January 06, 2010


jj is a Swedish ambient/electronic band. They have an upbeat sound with an acoustic guitar sometimes and an almost eerie sound in others. jj has made a name for themselves with very soft lyrics and gained some fans by using a marijuana leaf on the cover of N°2. They are making a name for themselves taking mainstream rap songs and toning them down with a softer sound and new lyrics. The product is golden so far. They use Lil Wayne's "Lollipop" in "Ecstasy" which is off N°2 and then use Akon's "I'm So Paid" at the beginning of "5 minuter med jj". They kind of remind me of Kiss95.1 and Sigur Ros mixed together on these tracks. JJ has recently signed with Secretly Canadian records and have announced a new LP, surprisingly named N°3. It is going to drop on March  9th. The Track List goes as follows:
  1. My Life
  2. And Now
  3. Let Go
  4. Into the Light
  5. Light
  6. Voi Parlate, Io Gioco
  7. Golden Virginia
  8. You Know
  9. I Know
  10. No Escapin' This

They are doing a US tour with fellow 2009 break out artists The XX in the early spring and will be playing Carrboro.
Cat's Cradle, March 25.

Off N°2
jj - Ecstasy
jj - Things Will Never Be the Same Again

Recently Released
jj - 5 minuter med jj

No comments:

Post a Comment