Sunday, October 31, 2010

The Decemberists Announce New Album Out 1/11/11

The Decemberists have announced a new album, The King Is Dead, to be released on January 11th, 2011. The whole date and just one's things is definitely a something you'd expect from the Decemberists.  The album will be released on Capitol Records. The album is said to be inspired by R.E.M. and feature R.E.M.'s Peter Buck on 3 of the 10 songs. I have a feeling that Colin Meloy may have been at work on this masterpiece while 3 of the bands five members were working on and touring with Black Prairie, so without building up the album too much I want to set the bar a little higher than 2009's The Hazards of Love. This is just around the corner, man am I already looking forward to next year, new Decemberists and Drive-By Truckers already announced and I'm sure that's just the beginning.

Tracklist for The King Is Dead:
1. Don't Carry It All
2. Calamity Song
3. Rise to Me
4. Rox in the Box
5. January Hymn
6. Down By the Water
7. All Arise!
8. June Hymn
9. This Is Why We Fight
10. Dear Avery

Below is a video of Colin Meloy singing "Down By The Water" live from a KEXP set at CMJ festival earlier this month. I am definitely digging the harmonica and sound, it has their dark, creepy sound but an earlier sounding Decemberists catchy flow.

No comments:

Post a Comment